Professor Marshall is a clinician researcher and NHMRC Practitioner Fellow with specialist training in child health, public health and vaccinology having completed a Bachelor of Medicine and Surgery, Doctorate of Medicine, Master of Public Health and Diploma in Child Health and the Advanced Vaccinology Course at the Pasteur Merieux Institute, France. She holds the position Professor in Vaccinology in the Adelaide Medical School and is the Deputy Director of the Robinson Research Institute at The University of Adelaide, Senior Medical Practitioner and Director of the Vaccinology and Immunology Research Trials Unit, VIRTU, at the Women’s and Children’s Hospital, South Australia. Professor Marshall has been a member of the ATAGI, which advises the Federal Minister of Health on immunisation for the National Immunisation Program and Chair of the Human Papillomavirus vaccine working group. Prof Marshall has published over 220 peer-reviewed papers in international journals. She was awarded the NHMRC “10 of the Best” research projects in 2016, the SA Science Award for Excellence in Research for the Public Good in 2011, the SA Science Award for Excellence in research collaboration in 2019 and a Member of the Order of Australia in 2022. She is the 2022 SA Australian of the Year.